Farmer’s Market!

28 Jun

The Farmer’s Market on Selma/Ivar/Hollywood/Sunset Blvd happens every Sunday… and it’s huge and fantastic and full of free samples! . People stocking their personal kitchens and head chefs for fancy restaurants bump elbows and reach for sampling toothpicks together here; the varied produce doesn’t have far to travel so is incredibly fresh and delicious. I bought a bottle of lotion from a large Reggae man in matching floral shirt and shorts who drew me in with a, “Ladies, come try my lotion- you will be happy you did.” Yep, I was. (if you want to check it out: http://rootsbrothersgrows.com/)

"Mind Blowing Nectarines"

I saw L.A. hipsters and the fashionably dirty (and/or strung out) for the first time.  Also, I visited a thrift store and found a few shirts (and one for my brother… yes, I AM the best big sister ever, I know).

...I'm realizing my enjoyment of screen prints

This next statement may be too revealing of my pre-supposed ideas about the SoCal folk… but I have been pleasantly surprised with the general courtesy that people have for each other here… as long as you’re following traffic laws and using your signals.  Apparently L.A. is also fairly dog friendly because I’ve seen several people bring their pampered pooches into stores with them.

I doubt they have veggie burgers... maybe I should go just to say that I did.

Oh, the In-N-Out Burger. I see you all over the place and I get so scared for the figures and cholesterol of those who enter your doors.

Apparently it's well known... I think more for generations before mine though. Be amused, Dad.

I laughed to myself when I saw this, literally. (picture below)

This is specifically for my friend Caitlin... because she loves them Scientologists so much

Please feel free to call/text/email/facebook/comment me… my interaction with people outside this family is fairly limited.

with love, k

3 Responses to “Farmer’s Market!”

  1. Mom June 28, 2010 at 3:15 am #

    Hi Kelly,

    Love your blog. It’s fun to keep updated on your life in L.A. What a unique experience. I’m looking forward to the updates. Stay safe!
    Love ‘ya,
    Mom

  2. caitlin June 28, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    Ahhhhhhh scientologists!!!!! they are so silly.
    i miss you. but keep posting pictures so that i can live through you vicariously!

  3. leah June 28, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    ohhhhhh that farmer’s market looks so amazing. consider me super jealous. miss you baby girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

